Department of Justice


Yukon Police Council

The Yukon Police Council (YPC) acts as a liaison between Yukon citizens, the Department of Justice and “M” Division of the RCMP. The Council relies on feedback from Yukoners to the Minister of Justice when policing priorities are being drafted. YPC is a citizen based council established from the recommendations from Sharing Common Ground, the final report of the Review of Yukon’s Police Force 2010.

The Yukon Police Council’s main roles are to: 

  • ensure that a broad representation of Yukon citizens have input into the Territorial Police Service objectives, priorities and goals established by the Minister of Justice.
  • provide advice that the Minister of Justice may consider when establishing policing objectives, priorities and goals pursuant to the Territorial Police Services Agreement.
  • increase the flow of information between citizens, the Department of Justice and “M” Division of the RCMP.

The 2017 council members are:
Deputy Minister of Justice Lesley McCullough- Chair, Lisa Anderson, Elodie Dulac, Tracy MacPherson, Simon Nagano, Rob Schneider, Melaina Sheldon

Council Member Bios

Interested in becoming a member of the Council? Want to submit your input for the upcoming priorities? Contact the YPC Secretariat at

Fall 2017 Call for new members
October 2017 Community visits to Carmacks, Pelly Crossing, Mayo
November 2017 Whitehorse based stakeholder meeting
November 2017 Drafting of recommended policing priorities



Call toll free 1-800-661-0408 (ext. 6475)
In Whitehorse, call 393-6475

Yukon Police Council Secretariat
Box 2703 J-10
Whitehorse, Yukon Y1A 2C6